Marriage and Relationships

Marriage came due to religion. The willing to close an aliance with the partner and God in order to be recognize on Earth and in Heaven. People were afraid of what would God say if people just went live together or just would have a ‘pic-nic’ here and there. With time women became a piece of merchandise and were used to trade with social status, goods and money. Women had no word to say about their marriage and so we saw that many women were and still are cohersed into not wanted marriages and into families that sometimes don’t have the slightest respect for them.

As a westerner, I consider women equal to men and with the same rights and obligations and therefore I strongly defend the presence of women in all levels of society. Since the marriage institution comes from religion and social pressure from in the past it’s time that society also evolves with time and adapts an approach to relations between partners.

When I was a Mormon I strongly defended the most conservative principles of the sacredness of family and marriage. Two and a half years went by and today I see things differently. I see the union of partners as something between themselves and please let them chose what kind of relationship they want and with whom they want. Of course society needs to protect itself from adults getting together with children among other possible unions.

Today I would not marry again but I would take my partner, soulmate, love to a beautiful place of our choice and just the two of us I would declare my love for her and make vows valid for us and to be cherished by us. To safeguard the future in case of death or end of the relationship a single document would be signed in front of a Government official and that was it. No need for marriage and no need to expensive, long and many times violent divorce procedures.

I see no problem in the so called not usual relationships like people having more than one partner. If that is their choice society needs to be prepared to accept that kind of union as well. We need to admire this kind of relationships because they need to be very strong to be able to succeed. Love and attention must be given to both partners in order that one of them doesn’t feel left our in the relationship. In Belgium I have seen several examples on televisions of polygamous families that function in perfect harmony.

Until a while ago I was very conservative on this kind of families but since I saw a polygamous family where the women were taking care of each other’s children with so much love and respect my opinion started to change. If these people get along together why not allowing them to be happy as they are? Isn’t it better than a traditional couple in which one of the partners is abusive towards the other?

Maybe all this is too progressive but it’s how I feel.

Leave a Reply

